News Release

For more information contact: Linda Berry, KCC Public Affairs Director (785) 271-3269

January 16, 2020

Commissioner Susan K. Duffy elected Chair of the Kansas Corporation Commission

Topeka, KS - At today's annual Kansas Corporation Commission Organizational Meeting, Commissioner Susan K. Duffy was elected to serve as Chair of the three-member Commission. Governor Laura Kelly appointed Duffy to the Commission on March 18, 2019. Her term will expire on March 15, 2023.

Prior to her appointment to the KCC, Duffy served as General Manager for the Topeka Metropolitan Transit Authority for six years. However, the bulk of Duffy’s career has been in state government. Duffy served in several senior management positions in Kansas state government including Executive Director and Chief Financial Officer of the Kansas Corporation Commission; Director of Administration for the Kansas Historical Society, Fiscal Controller and Director of Research for the Kansas Department of Revenue; and Senior Budget Analyst in the Governor’s Budget Office. Duffy was also a fiscal analyst for the non-partisan Kansas Legislative Research Department and responsible for the analysis of Medicaid and social service budgets.

Commissioners are appointed by the Governor and approved by the Senate. They serve staggered four-year terms. State law provides that no more than two of the three commissioners may belong to the same political party.

The KCC is an independent regulatory agency that oversees the state's electric, natural gas, telecommunications, oil and gas, and transportation industries with the responsibility of ensuring safe, adequate, and reliable services at reasonable rates for the citizens of Kansas.