News Release

For more information contact: Linda Berry, KCC Director of Public Affairs (785) 271-3269

March 23, 2022

Senate confirms reappointment of Dwight D. Keen to the KCC

TOPEKA - Today, the Kansas Senate confirmed Governor Kelly’s reappointment of Dwight D. Keen to a second four-year term as a Commissioner on the Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC). Keen is currently serving as Chair of the three-member Commission that regulates investor-owned utilities operating in the state, the Kansas oil and gas industry and motor carrier safety.

“I am truly honored and humbled to be reappointed to the KCC by Governor Kelly. Without question, serving on the Kansas Corporation Commission has been the highest honor and privilege of my professional career,” said Keen. “I am grateful for the Governor’s bipartisanship which provides me with the opportunity to continue to serve and give back to our great State. In every respect, my service will remain dedicated to the professional, apolitical and non-partisan rendition of all Commission duties and responsibilities.”

Keen’s prior legal and finance experience includes serving as a securities attorney with the National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc. (presently FINRA) in Washington, D.C.; serving as the Senior Financial Analyst and Counsel to the Director of Corporation Finance for a large money center bank in New York City; and practicing corporate and securities law with two prominent Wichita law firms.

Keen’s prior state government service includes serving for six years as Kansas Securities Commissioner; serving two terms as a Commissioner on the Kansas Commission on Veterans’ Affairs; and serving one four year term as a member of the Kansas Board of Tax Appeals.

Keen has a B.B.A. degree in business administration, a Master of Science degree in business with emphasis in marketing and finance, and a Master of Arts degree in Economics – each of these three degrees are from Wichita State University.  He also has a Juris Doctor degree in law from the University of Kansas School of Law and is a U.S. Army Vietnam veteran.

In addition to Keen, current Commissioners include Susan Duffy and Andrew French. Members are appointed by the Governor and serve staggered four-year terms. State law provides that no more than two of the three Commissioners may belong to the same political party.

The Commission’s headquarters is in Topeka with the central Conservation office in Wichita and four Conservation district offices located in Chanute, Dodge City, Hays and Wichita.

Photo of Dwight D. Keen