News Release

For more information contact: Linda Berry, (785) 271-3269

May 3, 2019

Senate approves appointment of Susan Duffy to KCC

Today, the Kansas Senate confirmed Governor Laura Kelly’s nomination of Susan Duffy to a four-year term as a Commissioner on the Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC). Her term will expire on March 15, 2023. Duffy succeeds former Senator Jay Scott Emler who served on the Commission since January 2014.

“I am extremely grateful to Governor Kelly for the trust and confidence she has placed in me with this appointment as Commissioner to the Kansas Corporation Commission,” said Duffy.  “I am excited at the opportunity to continue serving the citizens of Kansas in this capacity.”

Duffy joins Chairman Dwight D. Keen and Commissioner Shari Feist Albrecht on the three-member board. Members are appointed by the Governor and serve staggered four-year terms. State law provides that no more than two of the three Commissioners may belong to the same political party.

“Kansas and the Commission will benefit from Susan’s service on the Kansas Corporation Commission,” said Keen.

Prior to her appointment to the KCC, Duffy served as General Manager for the Topeka Metropolitan Transit Authority for six years.

The bulk of Duffy’s career has been in state government. She served in several senior management positions in Kansas state government including Executive Director and Chief Financial Officer of the Kansas Corporation Commission; Director of Administration for the Kansas Historical Society, Fiscal Controller and Director of Research for the Kansas Department of Revenue; and Senior Budget Analyst in the Governor’s Budget Office. Duffy was also a fiscal analyst for the Kansas Legislative Research Department.

Duffy earned a Bachelor of Arts degree and a Master of Arts degree in Political Science from Wichita State University.

The Kansas Corporation Commission is a multi-faceted agency responsible for regulating public utilities including electric, natural gas, telecommunication and water companies as well as motor carriers, oil and gas pipelines and oil and natural gas production. The Commission’s headquarters is in Topeka with the central Conservation office in Wichita and four Conservation district offices located in Chanute, Dodge City, Hays and Wichita.