Federal Plugging Program

American flag

President Biden signed the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (BIL; Public Law 117-58) on November 15, 2021, making a once-in-a-generation investment in the Nation’s infrastructure and economic competitiveness. This landmark investment will rebuild America’s critical infrastructure, tackle the climate crisis, address legacy polluted sites, advance environmental justice, and drive the creation of good-paying union jobs. By addressing long overdue infrastructure and environmental improvements and strengthening our resilience to the changing climate, this investment in our communities across the country will grow the economy sustainably and equitably for decades to come. Section 40601 of the BIL creates an orphaned well site plugging, remediation, and reclamation program within the Department of the Interior (DOI) to address orphaned wells and well sites on Federal lands.1 Subsection (d) creates a grant program for Tribes, and subsection (c) creates three types of grants for states: 1. Initial grants (Section 40601(c)(3)) 2. Formula grants (Section 40601(c)(4)) 3. Performance grants (Section 40601(c)(5))

Kansas is eligible to receive $58.6 million for orphaned well site plugging, remediation, & reclamation:

  • $25 million - Initial Grants
  • $33.6 million - Formula Grants

For the full FY2022 State Initial Grant Guidance see link below:


Federal Project Overview 4 23

Projected Federal Initial Grant Project

1. District 1 Project #1 – 15 Well Project

  • Counties: Grant, Greeley, Hamilton, Morton, Seward, Stanton, & Wichita

2. District 1 Project #2 – 22 Well Project

  • Counties: Barber & Pratt

3. District 3 Project #1 – 616 Well Project

  • Counties: Anderson, Douglas, Franklin, Jefferson, Johnson, Linn, & Miami

4. District 3 Project #2 – 482 Well Project

  • Counties: Coffey, Wilson, & Woodson

5. District 3 Project #3 – 490 Well Project

  • Counties: Allen, Bourbon, Crawford, Labette, Montgomery, & Neosho

6. District 3 Project #4 – 654 Well Project

  • Counties: Chautauqua, Elk, Greenwood, & Montgomery

7. District 4 Project #1 – 31 Well Project

  • Counties: Decatur, Osborne, Rooks, & Russell

8. District 4 Project #2 – 37 Well Project

  • Counties: Cheyenne, Sherman, & Wallace

Project awards are subject to the Kansas Corporation Commission receiving orphaned well plugging funds pursuant to the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (IIJA) Section 40601.

The number of wells in a project may change as wells are added or removed from the project. The total number of wells for each project should remain roughly similar to the numbers listed above.



Federal Plugging Helpful Links

Interested in becoming a contractor? Click here to learn how to apply.